Twit-what? Twit-who? Twitter.

31 03 2009

After many months of resisting to join yet another seemingly pointless social networking site I have finally joined Twitter. (Im @lauraJbruce if anyone’s interested). Originally I struggled to find a purpose for Twittering, especially as I rarely change my status on facebook. I don’t see why everyone feels the need to share their every thought, many share far too much while others announce their depressed state to the world in the hope they will get some sort of virtual *hug*. Irritating. I am also merely a student on a small campus living in halls so the likelyhood that I will have exciting things to update the world on is quite low.

However, I must say that I am actually rather enjoying Twittering. I don’t really know anyone on Twitter, although I do have a collection of random people following me, this means I can air any thought, query or piece of info that I find interesting without the fear of annoying the population of my friends list. There is also a limit of 140 characters which means no rambling! This is not the main reason I find Twitter interesting though, the main reason would be the tweets from the likes of Stephen Fry, Jonathan Ross and Bill Bailey (to name but a few) who lead far more interesting lives than I. Stephen Fry is apparently one of the people who generated Twitter’s popularity and I can see why. He regularly replies to questions, tweets and posts many pictures from his adventures allowing access to a celebrity’s life in a way that hasn’t really been done before.

There are also many negatives to Twitter, one being that as there are so many people posting Tweets on a regular basis you become virtually invisible although I do often wonder who would be interested in what I would be doing at a particular point in time. It is also just another social networking site which pulls you in for a while, usually when you least want it to, and what with emails, facebook, online articles and blogs to read it is a wonder how anyone has time to live the life they blog about.

Apparently Twitter has become so important these days that it is to be taught in schools. If you want to learn the hows and whys of Twitter I suggest you read this guide on Philip Schofiled’s website.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

