How To Win The Lottery (part 2)

15 09 2009

Okay so I know the moment has passed but I thought I’d post my two cents on last Friday’s show.

Despite being more confused about how the trick was done I thoroughly enjoyed the programme. I clearly must be watching the wrong programmes but I rarely find that an entertainment show on television that engages my mind as much as a Derren Brown programme does. Half of my brain seems to be concentrating on what he is saying and taking it in whilst the other half of my brain is overlooking what is coming out of his mouth and trying to read between the lines.

Derren seems to enjoy a live environment and appears relaxed which adds to both the entertainment factor of the show and my paranoia.
Although the majority of the audience were waiting for the ultimate reveal about the lottery trick I was rather enjoying the build up. An audience member avoiding a mouse, a guy avoiding a knife through his foot, it all adds to the explanation anyway.

An explanation that I’m not sure I believe to be honest. Deep maths?! Is that even a real thing? Although the last option of fixing the machine isn’t really his style part of me hopes he did. We will never find out though.

I read some tweets about the show and many people seem disappointed with The Events on Friday. Aside from the ones who genuinely believed they would find out how to win the lottery I think the others are hoping there is a bigger thing behind the lottery show. Some believe it was created simply to set up for the next show entitled How To Control The Nation, which looks fantastic by the way, or it will be if it works. We will never know the ins and outs of how he predicted the lottery or if there were/are underlying reasons behind it but it definitely got people talking.
 

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 09 2009
sherby57

I can’t believe that people actually thought they could learn how to win the lottery!! I guess people will believe anything if they think it’s going to make them millions – it’s how con men work!

I thought that he might actually tell us how he did the trick though, and he clearly didn’t. I enjoyed the show, but was a bit disappointed.

26 09 2009
Laura

Even if he did tell us how to win the lottery and everyone bought a ticket the lottery would be worthless anyway!

If you go to this there is a really good explanation of how it was done. Well a possibility but I believe it!

What are you opinions on the other “Events”? I haven’t watched the psychic spy one yet.

27 09 2009
sherby57

I actually have already read that explanation! It certainly seems very plausible and is more than likely how he did it (although, it seems crazy to be so confident when I know nothing about magic). I’m pretty confident that it was a magic trick though!

I’ve been enjoying the ‘Events’ as Derren makes compelling TV no matter what he is doing. I have to say that I didn’t stick to my chair or predict what the drawing was of – there’s no way of knowing just how many people were affected – and this gives it a tinge of disappointment. I’m not entirely sure how much I want it to work on me, which is mention in this post: http://poursomegravyonme.co.uk/2009/09/20/no-time-to-blog-day-5-what-i-watched-last-night/

Leave a Reply

